Asia-Pacific FTA

A Free Trade Area of Asia-Pacific (FTAAP) will be pursued, one of the results of Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) summit meeting in Japan over the weekend.

The FTA will include the ASEAN member-countries plus China, Japan, S. Korea, India, Australia and New Zealand. The related news report is here.

Free trade benefits people. Exporters will have a wider potential market while importers and consumers will have a wider choice of suppliers from many countries at low or zero import tax. While there are some losers, their number is few compared to the gainers. And losses are often short-term while benefits are long-term.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: